ZenCat

Waving Sage
Oct 4, 2008
A Hippie Commune
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
Recently 2
I didn't know where to pose this question. Mods, please move it to a more appropriate section if you like.

Has anyone ever had to speak publicly, made your presentation, and then had no memory whatsoever of what you've said? The Public Speaking situation I'm referring to in this instance could be of any kind: reading a report aloud to a class, debating a case with an important outcome, making a presentation to a business or interest group, standing up at a public political meeting, etc.

From the time I was a student, then throughout my career, in local government situations (I was an officer in a local Neighborhood group, and a member of a larger area Environmental group, and attended regular public meetings for these), in a conflict situation (had a major one with a school) whenever I've had to speak to a group I experienced deep anxiety, sweaty palms, shaking, but I did it. When it wasn't a spontaneous situation, I was very well prepared with supporting info. I knew what I planned to say... but after I stood up and spoke... I never had any memory of anything I had said! EVER!

I've been assured every single time that I spoke eloquently, unhesitatingly, coherently, intelligently even inspirationally but too softly (love when they shove that microphone closer to your face and bark "SPEAK UP!"). I have to take their word for it, because I can never recall a single word once I open my mouth.

Could this a type thing, or is it more likely a me thing?

I have this exact experience, but with a little better recollection! Getting better at confidence in front of groups-as a speaker. Still can't handle being in a random crowd of people. Speaking gives us a purpose. But yes, I have difficulty remembering what I've said.

I haven't experienced that.

wow. zencat, that's pretty intense xD.