Proper Forum Etiquette

Wolfskillian

Banned
Dec 2, 2015
MBTI
IxFJ
Enneagram
Eh?
Thumbs and reputation, and just plain good 'ol fashioned manners.

As a forum newbie, I'm still wet behind the ears and getting a hold of my bearings here. Is there a proper way to behave here? And yes, I know, just don't act like an inconsiderate a-hole... but seriously. When to give rep, when it's ok not to? Will using the thumbs up or down incite wrath in others? Does it all even matter?

Reactions: Artisan
I'm sure everyone has their own way of doing things here, but generally I like to follow this way of thinking:

1) Don't post to intentionally hurt or anger someone.
2) When addressing serious topics, remember that oftentimes we will all butt heads on it. But try to do so with good intentions and never be afraid to apologize when needed.
3) Otherwise, I try to keep it light-hearted and enjoy the fun.
4) Keep personal things between you and the person that shares them. Don't feed into the rumor-mills.
5) If you like a post, thumb it up. May even go an extra step to throw in a rep comment. I love it when I run out of rep after an evening of forum-surfing.
6) If you don't like a post, why not start up a dialogue and tell us why.

:)

The bottom line for me is this: Behind each and every post lies a human being. I always try to remember that before anything else.

Last edited:
I'm sure everyone has there own way of doing things here, but generally I like to follow this way of thinking:

2) When addressing serious topics, remember that oftentimes we will all butt heads on it. But try to do so with good intentions and never be afraid to apologize when needed.
4) Keep personal things between you and the person that shares them. Don't feed into the rumor-mills.
5) If you like a post, thumb it up. May even go an extra step to throw in a rep comment. I love it when I run out of rep after an evening of forum-surfing.