Post Graduation Anxiety - Some Help?

Chalti

Regular Poster
Sep 8, 2014
MBTI
ISFP
Enneagram
6w5
So, I graduated this May, and it's been a trying time putting up with a family who depends on you. It was a shock that my brother didn't graduate college, in fact, it was a huge let down (as everyone can imagine), so having graduated with a degree in English, I found myself in a huge predicament that has left me emotionally exhausted a few nights more than I would like.

The thing is I feel so responsible for my family right now, but like some English degree holders out there, I haven't been able to procure a job. I had a dream to teach English abroad, but lately all I've been getting has been rejections, not because of my lack of experience, but because of my skin color. It's very hard to let go of the idea that the dream I've been preparing for is discriminating me, and not because I'm unqualified for it... I'm about to get interviewed with NOVA corporations in Japan, so hopefully they'll help me get my foot in the door to teaching abroad, but I know their reputation is horrible. They are in need of people though, and they are said to recruit people without so much thought. The things ex-teachers say have been very difficult to swallow as a person looking for security, but I feel like there's no other available option.

I've also been hunting down for entry-level jobs...I haven't worked before, so it is problematic for me to get someone interested. The only experience I have in a work setting has been volunteering experiences, but my references hardly remember me now.

What should I do? I love writing too, but journalism isn't my strength. I considered making a portfolio and getting into character design, but I'm not sure if that will also be a dead end for me.