Lost in the Engineering world | INFJ Forum

Lost in the Engineering world

Sep 4, 2022
MBTI
INFJ
Hi all,

Currently at a HUGE career quandary. I studied industrial engineering in college. Ultimately, I was unsatisfied there. I had a couple of internships that I didn't enjoy or was talented at, but finished the degree just to have a college degree. I never fit in with the average IE, who's an ISTJ or ESTJ (top cognitive functions are always thinking and sensing, the opposite of INFJ, which makes sense, and it's why I've always struggled). But I had the Ti to get me through. I graduated and decided to make a shift to human factors engineering, which blends psychology, design, and engineering, which I thought would be ideal. It's a better fit, however my current company is sucking the life out of me. Again, I've found myself surrounded by ISTJs and ESTJs, which makes sense since IEs often go to human factors. There still is a high need for sensing and thinking skills, which are not my strong suits, and so I'm struggling. I don't see a point in continuing with my current path. I don't think I would make a good engineering manager (as INFJs aren't suited to either engineering or management), which would be the only real direction I can progress. And my relationship with my coworkers gets worse every day as I miss minor details on reports or have a hard time keeping up in meetings.

Right now, I'm planning on quitting this month. I have a 3 week trip that I'm supposed to be going on for work that I'm dreading. Financially, I'm fine so I think it's the right decision to take a step back and look at other jobs. I'm also living rent free with my parents. But my current work is so busy/taxing there is no time for interviews or introspection or volunteering.

My current career options I'm considering are: