[INFJ] - INFJ Musicians and cognitive functions | INFJ Forum

[INFJ] INFJ Musicians and cognitive functions

Jul 16, 2015
MBTI
INFJ...maybe
I'm a musician of a kind. I have a hard time attributing the things that happen with music and MBTI/cognitive functions. Maybe you have some insight into this and can help me out... Or post about your experiences creating music.

I know personally that proto-music exists in my head at all times... I can just express it/have a notion of it... even more fluidly than I can type or speak. Usually it is in the form of rhythms, sometimes melodies... and maybe chord progressions if I'm focusing on a bass line or really put in mental effort. Whenever I try to outwardly express this proto-music I never can completely capture what is in my head in a quality expression outside. The closest I can get is taping out a beat or humming. Anything that requires an interface through an instrument or even singing... just comes out rather garbled.

I can play bass guitar to a fairly decent level, but whenever I try to play what's in my head... it goes through the patterns that are easy to play on my fingers and I tend to have garbage technique. I'm an absolute noodler and can come up with random riffs and whatnot... but in a rather un-musical way.... horrible timing and technique but what I'm expressing is uniquely my own.

I'm a bit curious as to this process, and what cognitive function this is. As far back as I can remember, I've always been able to come with an accompaniment part on top of the music I hear around me... just some rhythm thing or maybe a melody. I don't know if this is Ne or Ni... It's easier for me to come up with my own little thing than follow along with the music as is.