INFJ and Leadership Positions | INFJ Forum

INFJ and Leadership Positions

writerinchief

Community Member
Nov 28, 2015
MBTI
INTP
Hey, guys! Long-time lurker, first-time poster.

I'm kind of nervous writing this to you all, especially since I've read so many well-written posts on this forum. I don't think I can possibly compare to the level of sophistication some of you ooze in your posts, especially since what will follow is essentially a long and bumbling rant.

Please bear with me. These feelings thump against my chest, and I need to vent it out. Treat it as a storytime, as an opportunity to read about a protagonist living in a far, far away land, in the world of fairytales, if you may.

Anyway, to set the scene: ever since I was a freshman, I wanted to be the editor-in-chief of my school newspaper. I know, intense. I guess that's my Ni coming out there. I had this vision of leading this magnificent masthead, with members so close to each other that they were practically siblings, that I would personally inspire to great heights.

So starting freshman fall, I wrote a bunch of articles for the Sports page, these funny, short snippets that were a huge hit on campus. The editor for sports was a witty ISTP who totally understood me, thought I was a fabulous writer, and promoted me to a staff writer pretty quickly.

Sophomore fall, I was able to apply to be a copy editor, which, to all those not familiar, basically is the newspaper equivalent of a McDonald's worker. We had to check all the grammar, memorize numerous style conventions unique to the paper, look over the layout right before it was sent to publishers, knowing that we were only valued for this mechanical mental labor.

However, usually, all the copy editors would become page editors in the following years, so I knew I could use this position as a stepping-stone to become the editor-in-chief.