[INFJ] - How to let people in? | INFJ Forum

[INFJ] How to let people in?

Nov 25, 2017
MBTI
INFJ
Hey everyone!

This is my first time doing something like this so I'm not exactly sure what to do....but here goes!

I am an INFJ. I love having discovered this because now so much about my life makes so much more sense now. Like most INFJs I have a very small circle of people I trust and actually open up to. It's hard, I don't want to burden anyone and being vulnerable sucks. I've been dating a guy for about 8 months now and I really think he's the one but I'm having the hardest time opening up to him and letting him see the real me. Instead of talking to him about things I treat him crappy and that's totally not how I am as a person so I don't understand why I do it. In my head, I tell him everything that's on my mind, but when he's actually sitting in front of me I can hardly spit a sentence out. I've tried writing things down, but at some point I have to be able to open up to him or this relationship will never work.

How do you fellow INFJs handle relationships? I want to be close to him but I want my space, I want to open up but I don't want to talk, I want to need him but I don't want to need him. All my feeling contradict themselves and I'm so completely lost right now. =(

It's usually the best policy to ignore the emotions that don't make sense.
How do you fellow INFJs handle relationships?
Even when nervous, I tend to verbalize what's on my mind if it seems rational to say. There's a lot to be gained in stepping out of one's comfort zone.

Last edited:
Reactions: Reason and Sandie33