How are you when it comes to writing academic papers? | INFJ Forum

How are you when it comes to writing academic papers?

Night Owl

This Bird Has Flown
Apr 9, 2016
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
Never
Perhaps some questions to consider:

Are you speedy and efficient? Or do you take ages to write an essay?

A last minute kind of soul? Or do you get right in there?

What do you like or dislike about writing academic papers?

I'm a postgraduate student finishing my degree now, I'm excellent at assignment work and get high distinction grades. But I wasn't always good at it. I used to think it was a matter of saying something profound and everything else would follow, now I realise how wrong that was. It's a matter of going through a process, meeting assessable criteria, and doing exactly what the instructor says to do. That gets an easy distinction. When I've done all that, the profound statement follows naturally, and that's what gets the high distinction.

The best trick I learned is making thorough but condensed notes of the scholarly literature while reading. I make plenty of time to thrash through masses of reading. I can write excellent notes that summarise and make sense of the literature. Then when it comes time to write the literature review all I have to do is look at my notes, everything is already in my own words and I just polish it up. I never need to look at the actual literature ever again. It makes things so much easier. There is really no overestimating the value of comprehending and competently discussing the published scholarly literature in writing successful academic work.