Honest suggestions / advise on career options | INFJ Forum

Honest suggestions / advise on career options

chobo

Jan 13, 2009
MBTI
infj
Hi!

I have been on a crazy spiritual / self discovery journey this past year and a half and now my current career has come into question (again). I hold a degree in Computer Science and I've always seemed to like Web Development and programming, but I just have a hard (very hard) time working a Mon-Fri 9-5 position where I feel like I am just wasting my time. I was happy to have been laid-off four months ago and have done a lot of research into what makes me tick as well as career exploration.

Some things I have discovered:
  • I don't like being a follower
  • I like to work alone and do things my way
  • Work life balance is essential for me (need ability to set hours / vacation)
  • I need to feel like an expert / professional. Web Development has such low barriers to entry.
  • I need lots of time to think things through very carefully (look at problems from all angles).
  • I hate routine, mundane tasks
  • Some tasks bring out the "Perfectionist" in me (bad thing) because I either spend way too much time on them, procrastinate, or don't even start knowing I won't be able to finish.
  • I need to feel like what I am doing is worthwhile, otherwise I lose motivation
  • I'm obsessed with self-help / improvement and the mind (became a Christian a year and half ago (very happy), read tons of books on psychology, addictions, personality, etc...

I know I am facing an uphill battle in the IT world... I was fired from my first job after a couple of months (took a few years off to recover from that) and my second job I was laid-off after a couple of years. My impression of the IT industry is that everyone is out for themselves and the is a very cold place. My gut feeling is that the cycle is just going to repeat itself until I drop dead.