Mogura

Community Member
Dec 18, 2010
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
Dunno
Hey guys,

I am thinking about going to graduate school as a way of career change. Short-term, I want to learn something new, I want to learn something different, I want to learn something in-depth. I want to challenge myself and dust off my brain and start using it again. I want to follow my passion! Long-term, I would like to become a college professor (it was a dream I had when I was doing my undergrad) or a researcher in academia. This is something I have been thinking about for a long time.

I have a Bachelor's degree, so I know that I have a few years of study and research ahead of me (i.e., Master's, PhD, post-doc). I am not above "paying my dues" and putting in a little hard work and effort to get there. (As long as I am funded--which is typical for the sciences--I am in no hurry to graduate.)

The thing is, it has been about 12 years since I graduated with my BS. I would not be pursuing the same field in my graduate study as my undergrad, but nevertheless I would probably need to take some undergrad courses to make up for deficiencies/get up to speed. I am thinking that if I complete the equivalent of a minor in that field in course work, then that should suffice. Anyway, I checked the admissions requirements, and my undergraduate major does not preclude me from admission, so I should be good in that respect.

I spent a year doing research for my senior thesis (undergrad), and I loved it.

What I am wondering is, has anyone else done this? What I mean is, have you gone to graduate school after being away from academia for so many years? When I get my PhD, I won't be as young as the other "doctors", so I am wondering if I would bust my ass for so many years only to end up being discriminated against for teaching/research appointments on basis of age.

Any comments? Words of encouragement or discouragement? Pitfalls? Gotchas? Woo-hoos?

Thanks...

Last edited: