IndigoSensor

Product Obtained
Retired Staff
Nov 12, 2008
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
1w2 sx/so/sp
I am curious to where everyone is at with this in a sense.

When I say emotional control, I don't necessarily mean how good your control over your emotions are, but more how often you try and control them. Whether it is anger, happiness, sadness, infatuation, ect. how often do you question that emotion and try to control it, make it stronger, make it go away, surpress it. Basically make it into what you think it should be.

I added a poll.

You can't really control emotions. You can only really be mindful of them and limit the control they have over you. To be mindful is accept the world for what it is, good and bad, and to make the best of what you have in the present moment. I'm not very good at being mindful of my emotions. They get the better of me 9 times out of 10. I'm working on it though because it is essential for the line of work I have chosen.

Sometimes I would rather work with raw sewage than with the toxic feelings that exist in my own mind. Analysis is useless with emotions. Awareness is the best you can usually do. When Buddihists say that you only exercise freewill when you are using mindfullness, they aren't lying. Unless you are being mindful, you are just reacting the world and the circumstance and consequences of it. In essence, without mindfulness you are just an animal living from emotion to emotion, pleasure to pain, where every choice you make is one meant to serve the ego rather than finding your place and higher purpose. But even awareness of this fact does not embue a man with the skill to bring his mind to serentiy. That takes self discipline and faith, which are sadly two things I lost long ago and which I have spent the better part of my life trying to regain.

Reactions: Morgain