Down in the dumps. | INFJ Forum

Down in the dumps.

BenW

Banned
Jun 27, 2009
MBTI
INTP
How long does it take for you to get over a dissapointment related to romantic relationships?
What do you do when you're bummed out?
What do you do to pass time?
What do you do to help yourself get past things?

I'm pretty new to this, myself. ='(
Still feeling pretty emo.

Last edited:
How long does it take for you to get over a dissapointment related to romantic relationships?

Depends. How deeply were you involved with the person? How long does it usually take you to get over a disappointment of a similar, emotional caliber? In general, are you the type of person to bounce back quickly from disappointments, or do you tend to sing the blues for a little while?

I go for a hard run. The physical challenge gives you an instant high when you're done.

I go about my daily life, and focus on getting as much done as I can; I look at goals I've been neglecting and get interested in trying new things. I go out and I meet new people.

See above for ideas. Still, in my experience, as an INFJ, our emotional wiring requires us to just 'let it all out'. I think the important thing is to just let yourself feel sad for a while, but to do it with a bit of structure, otherwise it might take over your life longer than necessary. Take three days to just mope around the house, mourn, and be sad. After those three days are up, tell yourself: That's It! I've mourned the relationship, time to move on!

Make sure you have the next seven days jam packed with activities, preferably, new ones. Go out, see people, force yourself into an environment where you have to keep things together, or better yet, where you can't help but have fun.