Staff member
Administrator
Aug 21, 2015
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
5w4
I just had a moment where I was nearly reduced to tears because:

1. I stupidly used FB. Why do I use FB? It's the worst.

2. Commented on a friend's post and he mistook my tone.

This happens somewhat often for me on any platform where I am writing conversationally. In person, I may word what I say poorly, or fumble with applying words to thoughts, but my tone lets people know my intent.

Social media and forums (including INFJs) are hard for me - It is like conversing in type form. I fumble and I come across differently than intended. People don't warm up to me unless we have deep, one-on-one conversations (via messaging or email) that let me write in a more creative and meaningful style.

However, like many INFJs, I write beautifully when I am writing creatively, writing essays (such as for school), or letters of any kind. I am a published author, and at school I passed with flying colors whenever we had to write. There were times in school (before college) when my writing earned me A's even if I didn't read the material.

I cannot transfer that skill to conversational typing. I'm not that good at conversation, especially chat. Social media/forum conversations are the same.

It's hopeless.

Do you relate?

How do you make it work?

What are your thoughts and feelings on this conversation/written word INFJ dilemma?)

Please feel free to laugh along with me. :)

well, FB can make anyone feel like that. ick I'm sorry. at least you were nice enough to take the time to leave a comment.

I guess, when I am reading posts and comments, I look within the context to find the feeling behind the type. I can usually tell, but I had an instance here where I thought someone was serious and they were only teasing...looking back it was obvious and I had to look inside myself to see what made me miss that.