Calling someone you're dating your girlfriend or boyfriend? | INFJ Forum

Calling someone you're dating your girlfriend or boyfriend?

La Sagna

I did it! I'm a butterfly!
Oct 27, 2013
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
This is along the same lines of the other thread asking how many dates do you go on before you say you are dating, but this is more about labelling somebody your boyfriend or girlfriend.

I'm asking this more in context of a mature person, not a teenager which is totally different. The reason I'm asking is because of somebody I know who mentioned his girlfriend but I know that not very long ago he wasn't even dating anyone. I was surprised at how quickly he had somebody he called his 'girlfriend'.

I have no experience out in the modern dating world so I'm just curious about that.

Curious myself. I've been wondering about this since someone people seem to think they're the same. For example, if you've known someone for two years but never made it official, would it make sense to say you're still "dating" or would you automatically then say they are a 'boyfriend/girlfriend"? These terms sound too cutesy or temporary. Also, once you reach a particular age, calling someone a 'boyfriend" sounds weird. For a teen, it's understandable but odd if you're beyond that point. SO or partner (although people use the term partner for so many different things) sounds more appropriate.

Curious myself. I've been wondering about this since someone people seem to think they're the same. For example, if you've known someone for two years but never made it official, would it make sense to say you're still "dating" or would you automatically then say they are a 'boyfriend/girlfriend"? These terms sound too cutesy or temporary. Also, once you reach a particular age, calling someone a 'boyfriend" sounds weird. For a teen, it's understandable but odd if you're beyond that point. SO or partner (although people use the term partner for so many different things) sounds more appropriate.