Are you self taught? | INFJ Forum

Are you self taught?

Gaze

Donor
Sep 5, 2009
MBTI
INFPishy
Do you find that you learn better when you teach yourself an academic subject that is perceived as more easily or better learned in a classroom? Do you feel you can accomplish more as a self taught learner? How do motivation and self discipline play a role in your ability to learn on your own? What else makes self taught learning more effective or attractive? When you do you think self taught learning isn't effective? For what subjects or in what circumstances?

Reactions: Sandie33
I prefer a balance.

Reactions: James
I'm an independent learner, and self-teaching dominates. Although I have to be interested in the subject at hand, otherwise, I can 'self-learn' but I'll be in much need of external discipline such as offered by formal education, including set assignments, deadlines etc. Yet nevertheless, having a lecturer, teacher, or even a friend with whom one can glean from and bounce intellectual ideas off, serve as intellectual stimuli that helps develop my own thoughts, and prompts me to think and research on other matters seemingly not related to what is 'taught'. I agree with [MENTION=14092]Asa[/MENTION] , a balance between self-learning and other-based-learning I find to be very beneficial - one without the other inhibits learning in my view. They both have their place.

I'm self taught about a few things and have learnt other subjects from and with others. I have noticed my perspective is more limited in the subjects I am self taught in. I feel this is so because I did not have the opportunity to learn from others in these areas, as a result, my perspective became self-limiting. When others are involved in the teaching and learning process a person has more opportunities to see and experience something from a variety of perspectives, thus expanding their knowledge base, which in turn expands their experience.